College of Medicine


The College of Medicine is one of the foundation colleges of the University of Juba. It was established in 1978 through a pioneering initiative from the late Professor Al Samani Abdalla Yagoub, the then Vice Chancellor, who deemed it fit to establish a medical school in Southern Sudan. Professor Yagoub consulted a group of consultant physicians from the University of Khartoum and the Sudan Medical Council to put together a theme and syllabus for a medical school. These experts delivered and the college of Medicine was established and admitted the first batch of students by early 1979. It was largely based on a 6-year course and very much a replica of the Faculty of Medicine in the University of Khartoum.

Over the last 35 years, the college was affected with the rest of the University by the long-standing civil war that ended with the signing of the Comprehensive Peace Agreement (CPA), and the birth of the Republic of South Sudan. There has never been a stable faculty, a decent campus, or modern infrastructure. Juba Teaching hospital has always taken the role of a clinical education centre. The first three batches graduated in Juba in 1985, 1986 and 1988 consecutively, and then the whole university was relocated to Khartoum during 1988/1989 academic year, when the war intensified in Southern Sudan.

The college was partially relocated back to Juba by 2007, admitting only first year students and continued to do so up to the time when South Sudan attained its independence in 2011.


To be a centre of excellence in Medical and health professional education


Production of competent healthcare professionals who are fit for purpose

The Objectives of the College

The college is a community- oriented institution that was established to:

  • Produce competent medical practitioners who can effectively participate in quality healthcare delivery.
  • Produce medical practitioners who contribute effectively in medical scientific research as part of the university core objectives.
  • Guide and assist the training of allied healthcare professionals.
  • Create a centre of excellence for medical consultancy through its specialist hospital.

 Graduate Opportunities

The graduates of the College like the rest at university could enjoy the following opportunities:

  1. Could qualify as medical practitioners (GPs and specialists)
  2. Biomedical scientists and researchers
  3. Academic healthcare professional educators
  4. Professional leaders of community and healthcare systems

The Course of Study (Academic Programme)

 The course of study is a 6-year medical education curriculum that was designed based on the traditional medical curriculum as practised at the faculty of Medicine of the University of Khartoum. Slight modifications were done but a lot remains to be considered (a revision and consideration of an integrated Medical Curriculum).

The degree awarded is the Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS).

Future Aspirations:

We plan strategically to transform the present college into a bigger college of Health Sciences with ten schools to meet the healthcare needs of the people of South Sudan.

We are strategically at a final planning stage of transformation.


Dean: Dr. Mayen M. Achiek
Registrar: Mr. Patrice Bafura Paul

Heads of Departments:

Anatomy: Dr. Jino David Ladu
Biochemistry: Mr. Kenneth Lado Sube
Medical Physiology: Dr. Mayen Achiek
Community Medicine: Prof. Akway Medho Cham
Forensic Medicine: Mr. Oromo Francis Seriano
Internal Medicine: Mr. Salvador Jaja
Medical Microbiology: Dr. Mohamed Abdella Eljack
Obstetrics and Gynecology: Mr. Festo Elias Jambo
Ophthalmology: Mr. Amos Buol Riak
Pediatrics and Child Health: Ms. Sarah Othwon Dak
Pathology: Mr. Oromo Francis Seriano
Pharmacology: Mr. Francis Marcello Malual
Psychiatry: Dr. Mohammed Boy Sebit
Surgery: Mr. Frederick Khamis Tawad